International Ice Hockey Federation

32 players invited

32 players invited

Canadian women’s team prepares for Kamloops

Published 22.01.2016 02:49 GMT-8 | Author Hockey Canada
32 players invited
Canadian players Marie-Philip Poulin (#29), Tara Watchorn (#27) and Laura Fortino (#8) celebrate a goal in last year's gold medal game. Photo: Francois Laplante / HHOF-IIHF Images
Canada’s National Women’s Team will host a training camp next week from 25-29 January at the MasterCard Centre in Etobicoke, Ontario.

The 32-player camp roster includes three goaltenders, nine defencemen and 20 forwards.

During camp, players will be on the ice for daily practices, and will participate in four Red-White intrasquad games. All practices and games at Canada’s National Women’s Team training camp are open to the public and free of charge.

The camp will serve as an opportunity for Canada’s National Women’s Team coaching staff, including head coach Laura Schuler, assistant coaches Howie Draper and Dwayne Gylywoychuk, and goaltending consultant Brad Kirkwood, alongside Melody Davidson, Hockey Canada’s general manager of national women’s team programs, to evaluate players midseason.

The evaluations – a year-long process that includes all national team, development team and under-18 team camps, along with international events, and club team performance – will assist the coaching and scouting staffs in selecting the team that will represent Canada at the 2016 IIHF Women’s World Championship on home ice in Kamloops, B.C., from 28 March to 4 April.

“This camp is an excellent opportunity for us to connect with some of our players and see where they are at as we all continue to work towards Kamloops,” said Schuler. “It’s an important step for us to see these players in action, as we prepare to select Canada’s roster for the upcoming world championship.”

In addition to the 32 players attending camp, Delaney Collins (Mercyhurst University, CHA) has been added as an assistant coach alongside Draper and Gylywoychuk.

The roster for Canada’s National Women’s Team training camp includes:

  • 15 players who won a gold medal with Canada’s National Women’s Team at the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia (Agosta, Daoust, Fortino, Jenner, Johnston, Labonté, Lacasse, Larocque, Mikkelson, Poulin, Rougeau, Spooner, Wakefield, Watchorn, Wickenheiser);
  • 15 players who won a silver medal with Canada’s National Women’s Team at the 2015 4 Nations Cup in Sundsvall, Sweden (Agosta, Birchard, B. Bram, Campbell, Davis, Edney, Fortino, Howe, Lacquette, Poulin, Rougeau, Saulnier, Spooner, Turnbull, Wakefield);
  • Six players who won a gold medal with Canada’s National Women’s Development Team at the 2016 Nations Cup in Füssen, Germany (S. Bram, Daoust, Gosling, Lacquette, Rattray, Terry);
  • Two players who won a silver medal with Canada’s National Women’s Under-18 Team at the 2016 IIHF U18 Women’s World Championship in St. Catharines, Ont. (Potomak, Shirley).


Erica Howe, Brampton (CWHL)
Charline Labonte, Montreal (CWHL)
Genevieve Lacasse, Boston (CWHL)

Courtney Birchard, Brampton (CWHL)
Sarah Edney, Brampton (CWHL)
Laura Fortino, Brampton (CWHL)
Katelyn Gosling, University of Western Ontario (OUA)
Brigette Lacquette, Calgary (CWHL)
Jocelyne Larocque, Brampton (CWHL)
Meaghan Mikkelson, Calgary (CWHL)
Lauriane Rougeau, Montreal (CWHL)
Tara Watchorn, Boston (CWHL)

Meghan Agosta, Hockey Canada
Bailey Bram, Calgary (CWHL)
Shelby Bram, Buffalo (NWHL)
Jessica Campbell, Calgary (CWHL)
Mélodie Daoust, McGill University (RSEQ)
Sarah Davis, Calgary (CWHL)
Élizabeth Giguere, Limoilou (CEGEP)
Brianne Jenner, Calgary (CWHL)
Rebecca Johnston, Calgary (CWHL)
Stephanie Lalancette, Limoilou (CEGEP)
Amy Potomak, Pursuit of Excellence (CSSHL)
Marie-Philip Poulin, Montreal (CWHL)
Jamie Lee Rattray, Brampton (CWHL)
Jillian Saulnier, Calgary (CWHL)
Sophie Shirley, Notre Dame (JWHL)
Natalie Spooner, Toronto (CWHL)
Kelly Terry, Toronto (CWHL)
Blayre Turnbull, Calgary (CWHL)
Jennifer Wakefield, Linköping HC (SWE)
Hayley Wickenheiser, Calgary (CWHL)

Invited, but unable to attend:
Haley Irwin, Calgary (CWHL)
Jenelle Kohanchuk, Toronto (CWHL)


Back to Overview